Communication…Blah Blah Blah!!

THE VIEW FROM OAK PARK

The Official Krisztina Blogsite

We have to communicate better. Good communication builds better relationships. What we have here is a failure to communicate. I’m sick of it! It’s all become an overused buzz phrase. Easy to say. Hard to follow through with. I think what we all have to do is listen a little better. Hearing the other person’s words (be it husband, wife, parent, child, teacher, student…Real Estate Agent, Client…) is NOT THE SAME as listening. And comprehending. And digesting. And responding. Oh – and my favourite – actually remembering the conversation and its implications! We’ve all been there. Personally and professionally. I admit to being guilty of it. A few years back I made a personal goal to improve my listening skills. (Google ‘Listen’ and ‘Books’ and you’d be surprised!) And every day, I try to put those skills into practice…now, if I could only do the same for all my Clients out there! (Oh, c’mon, don’t look so shocked. If you know anything about me, you know I’ve told them already! …So they know who they are!)

You put a lot of thought into choosing your Real Estate Agent and you are hiring them as an expert, so my advice to anyone is to try to listen to what your Agent suggests – it might be pricing, timing, improvements or staging – because it is our job to be fully educated on the housing market and your neighbourhood real estate trends. Nothing frustrates me more than having a Client impede me from doing the best job I can for them! We’re a team, and it’s my job to get you the best price for your home. If we tell you delays in upgrades or renos will cost you thousands of dollars because the market is slowing, we need you to listen and act. And for buyers, you need to put your faith and trust in our experience. We don’t want you to lose the house of your dreams because you believe it will still be on the market in a few weeks. Nevertheless, we’ll stick by you until the deal is complete. And if things get tough, please don’t forget key conversations and finger point – that won’t solve any problems. I always stand by what I’ve said, and unfortunately I’ve learned to save the streams of emails and text messages just in case. That being said, let me emphasize that I do this only as a ‘just in case’ scenario. Nothing gives me greater pleasure in this job than connecting sellers with buyers and buyers with new homes. It’s the best feeling in the world to have a happy Client and it’s why I continue to enjoy this job!! And now I’ll leave you with a few words of wisdom to think about, from George Bernard Shaw: “The problem with communication is the illusion that it’s been accomplished.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

